How to Teach Children About Money in 7 Easy Steps

  Money can be a touchy subject for kids and parents alike, but it's also a topic that needs to be discussed. We want our children to understand the value of money and how it works, but it can be tricky to discuss these concepts without sounding preachy. As a parent myself, I've found that making learning about money fun is one way to get my child interested in the topic without worrying about them feeling like we're pushing an agenda or being lectured at. Here are some fun ways that you can teach your child about money : Let kids invent their own games or create their own money. Let kids invent their own games or create their own money. This works especially well with older children who already have a grasp on financial concepts like spending, saving, budgeting and investing. Let them create their own games using whatever they want as currency — anything from marbles to candy to paper clips could work! If they want to make up actual rules for using this new currency (f

K to 12 Assessment Program for Grade 7-12

My youngest son is now grade 8 under the newly implemented K to 12 program of study. Their batch among the other nationwide grade 8 students will be the first graduates under the new education program. The new curriculum of the Philippine education aims to equip every student with different skills such as effective communication skills, information, media and technology skills, learning and innovation skills, life and career skills so they will be ready to go further into their next path, be it a continuing college education, entrepreneurship or employment.

To further understand the grading system in the new K to 12 Curriculum, the school where my son studies conducted a seminar for parent orientation on how a student will be assessed under the new curriculum. 

The assessment process will be based on set standards:

Level of Assessment                           Percentage Weight
Knowledge                                                              15%
Process/Skills                                                         25%
Understanding(s)                                                     30%
Performance/Product                                               30%
Total                                                                      100%

The levels of assessment are defined as follows:

Knowledge refers to the actual facts and information that a student acquires. It pertains to the data, figures and information taught.

Process/Skills refers to cognitive and intellectual application of the knowledge acquired.

Understanding refers to reasoning and continuing big ideas based on the aspect of comprehension on the principles and generalizations.

Performance/Product refers to the real-life application of understanding indicated by the student’s performance of realistic tasks.

Therefore, the teacher uses the four levels of assessment to evaluate the student’s attainment of standards in terms of content and execution of performance. Thus, the grade will be based on the acquired knowledge, intellectual application, reasoning and realistic performance through assignments and projects.

When it comes to the student’s report card, the K to 12 grading system will be described not in numerical value but in the equivalent level of proficiency.

Level of Proficiency                                               Numeric Value

A    = Advanced                                                            90% and above
P    = Proficient                                                             85 to 89%
AP = Approaching Proficiency                                        80 to 84%
D   = Developing                                                            75 to 79%
B   = Beginning                                                            74% and below

Grade 7 to 10 is called the Junior High School while Grade 11 and 12 are the Senior High School which according to Republic Act 10533 are the two years of specialized upper secondary education.

We, parents always want the best for our children. The K to 12 system of education will provide our children  relevant exposure and actual experience in their chosen field as needed skills will be instilled to pursue their dreams.

Photo credits:


  1. Sounds like a great assessment program. Sadly, the education system in our country sucks! Our kids could benefit from a program like this.


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Cleaning 101: Declogging drains

Notepad Corner’s Author Birthday Bash Giveaway

Climb Kilimanjaro: Tips for Success!